Literally meaning “inner wave” is a Southeast Asian form of martial art known as Inti Ombak. This “weapon” based form of combat is said to have originated from Central Java in Indonesia, during the Mataram dynasty. Apparently, this form of martial art has been based on a philosophy that encourages the fusion of the “mind” with the “body”. Furthermore, this style of combat was developed by Ki Poleng Sudamala, Daniel Prasetya of Colorado, and Tjahjadi Tanudjaya of Tengerang.

a. History/origin of Inti Ombak:

According to the cultural history of Indonesia, Inti Ombak was developed in the country by Daniel Prasteya. Apparently, he created this form of combat by using elements belonging to Pencak Silat which was developed on the island of Madura. According to Daniel himself, this form of martial art was passed on to him by his family who belonged to the Madura Island. Furthermore, the ancestors of Prasteya lived during the Mataram dynasty that existed in the country between the 8th and 10th centuries.

b. Weapon used in the Inti Ombak:

There are a number of weapons used in this form of combat, and they are as follows:

  1. Pisau: A knife.
  2. Kerambit: A claw like blade.
  3. Celurit: Madurese sickle.
  4. Toya: A stick.
  5. Rattan stick: A rottan.
  6. A Whip.

In addition, a single edge or double edge sword may also be used in this martial form.

c. Technique involved in the Inti Ombak and training availability:

In terms of technique, the Inti Ombak comprises of four main phases i.e. basic, animal, element, and human. They are as follows:

  1. Basic phase: In this phase the fighter essentially focuses on understanding the concept of “safety against risk” when dealing with an armed opponent.
  2. Animal Phase: “The use of raw instinctive power and reaction” is what a fighter learns in this phase. Furthermore, this phase consists of seven animal based forms that includes the pangolin (pengguling), crane (bangau), dragon (naga), mantis (belalang), monkey (monyet), snake (ular), and tiger (harimau).
  3. Element Phase: “Bayu i.e. wind, earth i.e. bantolo, water i.e. trita, and fire i.e. agni” are the classical elements that are used in the phase to help the martial artist understand the use of “intellect” in this form of combat.
  4. Human Phase: “Jurus” (i.e. forms) that ape routine body movements seen in fisherman, nanny, monk, drunkard, and pretty woman are essentially taught to the fighters so as to make them aware of the limitations of the human body.

As for training centers/schools, there are a few available especially around Indonesia for those interested in learning this “weapon” based martial art form.

image credit ')}

Translate »